Přeskočit na obsah

Krkonoše National Park and its buffer zone

The Krkonoše National Park (KRNAP) was established in 1963 and re-designated as such in 1991 to comply with new legislative provisions. The present area comprises 550 km2, this including the buffer zone. Maintaining the national park was a duty entrusted to Krkonoše Mountains National Park Administration. Based in the town of Vrchlabí, it is a co-funded organisation under the auspices of the Ministry for the Environment of the Czech Republic.
In terms of executive matters, KRNAP, including its buffer zone, is located in the state districts of Trutnov, Semily and Jablonec nad Nisou. Its eastern portion falls within the Hradec Králové Region, while that to the west is part of the Liberec Region.

The territory is divided into three zones, each utilising a different mode of protection. Strictly natural in method, Zone 1 comprises an area of 4,503 ha and is located in the upper part of the mountains, Zone 2, controlled natural area, stretches over 3,416 ha and connects to Zone 1 as a wide belt lining the alpine tree line, whilst the periphery of Zone 3 is situated in the central locations of the mountain range and below; it covers 28,408 ha. A special mode of protection is also applied in compact areas of scientific interest beyond the mountain part of the territory, examples being the natural monuments (see Compact specially protected areas below) of Lom Strážné, Slunečná stráň and Sklenářovické údolí. The buffer zone is not part of the national park, but forms a transitional area between Zone 3 and the open, intensely managed landscape of the Krkonoše foothills (Podkrkonoší).

Zoning is not an end in itself but is aimed at achieving maximum protection of the natural values of the mountains whilst concurrently permitting access to the territory, as well as its use for responsible tourism and sport in a way that is friendly to the natural world.

Skrýt nabídku