departmental organizations

Krkonoše Mountains Museum Jilemnice

The museum was founded in 1891, in connection with preparations for the Czechoslovak Ethnographic Exhibition in Prague.

Zámek v Jilemnici, ve kterém se nachází expozice Krkonošského muzea Jilemnice. Další expozice jsou umístěny v přilehlém barokním pivovaru a zahradním domku.
Zámek v Jilemnici, ve kterém se nachází expozice Krkonošského muzea Jilemnice. Další expozice jsou umístěny v přilehlém barokním pivovaru a zahradním domku.
Opening Hours
September – June Tues – Sun 8.00–12.00 13.00–16.00
July – August Tues – Sun 9.00–12.00 13.00–17.00

The tour lasts 60 - 90 minutes, the number of people per group is up to 45 (except for the mechanical nativity scene and the château exhibition), it is also possible to walk throughout without a guide.
Sale of souvenirs and books.

Entrance fee
full admission CZK 80
discounted admission CZK 40
family admission CZK 180
Entrance to exhibitions
full admission CZK 40
discounted admission CZK 20

Discounted admission: children between 6 to 15 years, students, pensioners, disability card holders
Family admission: 2 adults and up to 3 children


The museum was founded in 1891, in connection with preparations for the Czechoslovak Ethnographic Exhibition in Prague. The director of the girls' schools, Jáchym Metelka, was decisively responsible for its establishment. The first exposition was located in the former girls' school, later the museum moved several times and since 1953 it has been located in the château grounds. In 1979, it became a facility of the Krkonoše National Park Management and since 2013, it has been operated jointly with the town of Jilemnice. The exhibitions are located in the château, the former brewery and the garden house.

Historical and Ethnographic Exposition

It presents the history of the western Krkonoše Mountains from the great colonisation in the 13th century to the 20th century and focuses on Jilemnice as a natural centre of trade and crafts. Unique is a set of 33 funeral shields of local guilds from the first half of the 19th century and flax yarn - 296 metres of hand-spun fibre weighing a mere 1 gram. In the furnished weaving room, there is also a unique nativity scene by Jáchym Metelka dating back to 1883-1913. The original mechanism moves 142 figures that perform 350 kinds of movements, all accompanied by sound effects.

White Track - Chapters from the History of Czech Skiing up until 1938

The exhibition showcases the development of skiing from the introduction of skis to the Czech lands until 1938. Attention is also paid to German skiing in Bohemia. Everything is framed in the European context so that the position of our skiers (Czech and German) in the international context is clearly visible. The value of the exhibition lies primarily in the fact that it is a colourful mosaic of skiing history. Among the most popular exhibits are the massive peasant sledges, followed by the sledges of the horn. Of course, the oldest skis, unique coloured photographs from the end of the 19th century and medals that parallel jewellery in their beauty, are all highly valuable. Notably, the mannequins in period ski clothes are quite impressive. And there are plenty of other interesting things to see.

A seven-minute silent film from 1926 is shown in the exhibition, which perfectly captures the great ski races in Jilemnice. The exposition is located in the historically highly-valued halls of the old manor brewery, whose current form was given to them at the end of the 19th century by Jan Count Harrach, the nobleman who brought the first skis to Jilemnice.

From the Life of a Czech Cavalier

The château exhibition introduces the Harrach family, especially Jan Nepomuk Count Harrach (1828-1909), who contributed to the development of Czech culture and economy. You can see the corridor, hall, study, bedroom, men's salon, ladies' boudoir, dining room and bathroom.

Kavánova galerie Gallery

The gallery was founded in 1956 on the occasion of the 90th birthday of František Kaván (1866-1941). The painter was born in Víchovská Lhota near Jilemnice and his native region remained permanently inscribed in his soul and work. Between 1889 and 95, he studied at the Prague Academy of Painting under Julius Mařák. Under his tutelage, he quickly grew into a first-rate landscape painter and most of his works from that time belong today to the golden fund of Czech landscape painting. The famous Podmrak painted in Víchovská Lhota in 1894 was awarded a gold medal at the World Exhibition in Paris six years later. The Kavánoba galerie Gallery owns approximately 90 works by this leading Czech landscape painter.

The Church of St. Elisabeth

The oldest documented building in Jilemnice stood on the site of today's garden house. The Gothic church dating from the second half of the 13th century burnt down in 1788, the building has undergone an interesting historical and architectural development, it also became the burial place of some of the owners of the estate (the Wallensteins, the Harants).

Jan Count Harrach and gardening

In the first half of the 19th century, a garden house was erected at St.  Elisabeth's Church. The exhibition recalls the former owner's activities in the field of horticulture (development of the château park, Krkonoše gardens, etc.).

The permanent exhibitions are complemented by a number of exhibitions and accompanying events.

Château grounds

The site itself has a long and rich history. Already in the 2nd half of the 13th century, there was a Gothic Church of St. Elisabeth erected here. It is likely that a fortress belonging to the Wallenstein family was already located here. It is documented in written sources in 1492. In the first third of the 16th century, the fortress was acquired by the lords of Újezdec and Kúnice. In the second half of the 16th century, they were replaced by the Křineč family of Ronov, who had the fortress rebuilt into a Renaissance château. In 1637, the owners became the Harants of Polžice and Bezdružice, who landscaped the local château park. In 1701, the Harrachs bought the area and in the first half of the 18th century they built a Baroque brewery, granaries and modified the château. After the Church of St. Elisabeth burned down in 1788, a classical church was built in its place in the first half of the 19th century and an office building was added to the grounds. At the end of the 19th century, the château was rebuilt in Neo-Renaissance style and the park was landscaped in English style. In 1945, the Harrachs confiscated the château on the basis of the so-called Beneš Decrees. The town of Jilemnice became the owner. Currently, the Krkonoše Museum in Jilemnice and the Jaroslav Havlíček Municipal Library are located here, some of the buildings are used by the Jilm Social House and the Youth Information Centre, and some of the buildings are used as warehouses and apartments.

The partner of the Krkonoše Museum in Jilemnice is the town of Jilemnice.


Kostelní 75
514 01 Jilemnice
Phone: +420 481 543 041
mobile: +420 737 225 429
e-mail: kmjilemnice(zavináč)